Coffee: The good, the bad and the ugly!

coffee-cup-facebook

Coffee, hmmmm just thinking about its aroma has me wishing for a cup!

Okay, I literally am going to make myself a cup after this! My relationship with coffee is like this: “ When I think of you, I want you and I will stop at nothing to have you!” It’s a toxic love relationship, but my cup of coffee and I work on us, daily…one sip at a time. Ha! Sounds crazy right?  So what is the deal with coffee? Rumor has it that coffee makes the world go round. Apparently according to numerous articles on the world-wide web coffee was discovered by the Ethiopians sometime in the 10th Century or before! While I am not too worried about where it originated I am more interested in what it does or can do to me.

quote3
Coffee and I, are in a committed relationship!

I know many a people (myself included), who just cannot function without a cup of coffee in the morning. Which got me thinking, why do I literally feel ‘ready’ to start my day once I have had my daily dose of the bean? So, I took it upon myself to do some snooping and share my findings with you!

The Good

Let’s start with the good. Okay, besides the fact that it literally beats you into existence every morning, apparently there are nutritional benefits to drinking coffee too! According to Authority Nutrition coffee is actually VERY healthy. Imagine my joy when I read this!  Well evidence shows that coffee can make you a nicer and smarter person.  And it also helps your body burn fat, fight off depression, may lower your risk of getting type 2 diabetes and may even protect you from Alzheimer’s disease and dementia! (I have a list of people I seriously need to recommend this to). For more of its benefits please follow the link above!

funny-coffee-quotes-and-sayings-6
Coffee protects your brain and makes you smarter!

The Bad

Now let’s have a look at the bad, for the sake of being diplomatic. Mayo Clinic have made mention that the benefits of drinking coffee in this century seem to outweigh the risks! If you drink it in excess obviously there are some serious risks that come with it, such as a mild increase in cholesterol levels and a risk of heart disease in people with a specific — and fairly common — genetic mutation that slows the breakdown of caffeine in the body , and it can increase bed-wetting if you are between the ages of 5-7 ( the caffeine that is! Truly speaking kids this age in my very personal view should not even be drinking coffee!).  For more on the disadvantages you can visit Warrior Coffee.

b35f327ef95efb3667012357666e9f63
In excess it can be a health risk! stick to one cup a day! lol 

The Ugly

So, according to Warrior Coffee if you happen to drink loads of coffee in excess, meaning about 80-100 cups (23 litres) in a short period of time, it could actually kill you! Not that I have ever or will ever try to test this theory, but apparently  this does not only apply to coffee, drinking 23 litres of water all at once could put you in an early grave too!

Okay so to be fair coffee consumption is not ALL good, but (a very big but– especially for all the coffee pessimists out there) it’s not all bad either. As a matter of interest, its being proven ( still in the works) that the benefits of coffee when drunk in moderation of course, outweigh the disadvantages. With this being said, had I found out that the moderate consumption of the bean had way more adverse effects I would in all probability STILL consume it anyways – I profess I’m a self pronounced coffee addict until further notice!

And now I am going to nurture my relationship with the bean! Enjoy your cup too!

Nonny R

Leave a Reply

